If we are to restore some hope to disoriented humanity, we must go beyond the mere dialogue of cultures and beliefs towards a dialogue of souls. At the beginning of the 21st century this is the vital mission of art.
Amin Maalouf

Since the beginnings of Hespèrion XX and XXI, Jordi Savall has been committed to revealing the links between the different cultures and religions of the Mediterranean, and especially the related influences on Spain. This is reflected in many of his recordings, concert programmes and, more recently, musical projects with refugees. Refuge in Memory is an opportunity for a first-hand experience of the diversity of Mediterranean music – through the oral traditions of the Sephardim, Berbers, Greeks, Arabs, Hebrews, Andalusians and Catalans on the one hand and medieval manuscripts of the Trecento and the collection of Ottoman music by Dimitrie Cantemir on the other. An important role as a mediator in both musical and humanistic terms was played by Alfonso X (Alfonso the Wise, 1221-1284), who, among other things, founded a school of translation in Toledo with Jewish, Muslim and Christian scholars and thus helped introduce Arab knowledge to Christian-dominated Europe.

Lineup:
Jordi Savall – rebab, lyre, viola da gamba
Dimitri Psonis – santur, oud, saz, Moorish guitar
Pedro Estevan – percussion instruments

Corona-Information

- If you feel ill, you must refrain from attending the event.

- Masks are generally compulsory, except on your seat. (We ask you to bring your own protection)

- The general hygiene measures count.

- The general distance rule of at least 1 meter must be observed everywhere.

- Entrance and exit of the building and the concert hall is via several doors. You will find instructions on your ticket (above the ticket price) as to which door you must use. Please also note the time windows.

- The cards are personalized. In a suspected Covid-19 case, you will be our point of contact. If you have given your card to another person, you are obliged to provide information about it and give us the contact details.

- Tickets purchased through our office until September 30th can sit directly next to each other. All cards purchased from October 1st onwards will be given out in a checkerboard pattern, so even if you buy the cards together, there will still be a seat in between.

Pretty much we have to do without at the moment:

- Break (concert duration approx. 70 minutes)

- Catering before and after the concert

- Wardrobe

Wenn wir unserer orientierungslosen Menschheit wieder etwas Hoffnung geben wollen, müssen wir über den bloßen Dialog der Kulturen und Überzeugungen hinausgehen und zu einem Dialog der Seelen übergehen. Zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts ist das die unersetzliche Mission der Kunst.
Amin Maalouf

Seit den Anfängen von Hespèrion XX bzw. XXI ist es Jordi Savall ein Anliegen, die Verbindung der unterschiedlichen Kulturen und Religionen im Mittelmeerraum aufzuzeigen, vor allem die damit verbundenen Einflüsse auf Spanien. Viele Aufnahmen, Konzertprogramme und zuletzt musikalische Projekte mit Flüchtlingen zeugen davon. Zuflucht im Erinnern ist ein Abend, der die Vielfalt der mediterranen Musik erfahrbar macht. Zum einen durch mündliche Überlieferungen der Sephardim, Berber, Griechen, Araber, Hebräer, Andalusier und Katalanen, zum anderen durch mittelalterliche Handschriften des Trecento oder die Sammlung Osmanischer Musik von Dimitrie Cantemir. Eine wichtige Rolle als Vermittler im Musikalischen wie auch Humanistischen spielte Alfonso X. „el sabio“ (1221-1284), der u.a. in Toledo eine Übersetzerschule mit jüdischen, muslimischen und christlichen Gelehrten gründete und so zur Begegnung des arabischen Wissens im christlich dominierten Europa beitrug.

Besetzung:
Jordi Savall – Rebab, Lyra, Viola da Gamba
Dimitri Psonis – Santur, Oud, Saz, Maurische Gitarre
David Mayoral – Schlaginstrumente

Corona-Info

- Wenn Sie sich krank fühlen, müssen Sie vom Besuch der Veranstaltung absehen.

- Es gilt generelle Maskenpflicht, außer auf Ihrem Sitzplatz. (Wir bitten Sie Ihren eigenen Mund-Nasenschutz mitzubringen.)

- Es zählen die allgemeinen Hygienemaßnahmen.

- Die generelle Abstandsregel von mind. 1 Meter ist überall einzuhalten.

- Der Einlass sowie das Verlassen des Gebäudes und des Konzertsaals erfolgt über mehrere Türen. Den Hinweis, welche Türe Sie benutzen müssen, finden Sie auf Ihrer Karte (über dem Kartenpreis). Bitte beachten Sie auch die Zeitfenster.

- Die Karten sind personalisiert. Bei einem Covid-19-Verdachtsfall scheinen Sie als unsere Kontaktperson auf. Falls Sie Ihre Karte an eine andere Person weitergegeben haben, sind Sie dazu verpflichtet darüber Auskunft zu geben und uns die Kontaktdaten auszuhändigen.

- Karten, die bis 30. September über unser Büro erworben werden, können direkt nebeneinander sitzen. Alle ab dem 1. Oktober gekauften Karten werden im Schachbrettmuster vergeben, daher bleibt auch bei gemeinsamen Kauf der Karten ein Platz dazwischen frei.

Leider müssen wir derzeit auf Folgendes verzichten:

- Pause (Konzertdauer ca. 70 Minuten)

- Bewirtung vor und nach dem Konzert

- Garderobe bis höchstwahrscheinlich Dezember