… itd be much better for the world to be governed by the women in it you wouldnt see women going and killing one another and slaughtering when do you ever see women rolling around drunk like they do or gambling every penny they have and losing it on horses yes because a woman whatever she does she knows where to stop … (James Joyce Ulysses)

Dieter Schnebel (1930-2018), one of the most prominent German composers of the avant-garde and a friend of Galerie St. Barbara, devoted himself with great virtuosity to voice and language performance. In his works he often went to the limits of the human voice.

Yes, I will, Yes! is a monodrama based on Molly’s monologue at the end of James Joyce’s Ulysses. The text consists of eighty pages with zero punctuation relating the nocturnal thoughts – and strong sexual fantasies – of the protagonist. The text is partly spoken and partly transformed into a virtuoso vocal line. The accompaniment consists of a percussion part (primarily vibraphone) and an electronic playback featuring a second voice with vocal and synthetic background noises as well as Joyce’s entire spoken text (duration approx. 2.5 hrs.) played at quadruple speed.

Sarah Maria Sun premiered Schnebel’s Molly in 2016. As one of the most expressive singers and performers in the field of contemporary music, she breathes life into Molly Bloom like no other.

 

Sarah Maria Sun – Soprano
Johannes Fischer – Percussion
Gabriel Dernbach – Sound & Video

…jedenfalls wär es viel besser für die Welt wenn sie von den Frauen regiert würde von Frauen hat man noch nie gesehn dass sie sich gegenseitig umbringen und schlachten wann hat man überhaupt mal gesehen dass Frauen sich besoffen rumtreiben wie die das machen oder dass sie den letzten Penny den sie haben im Spiel riskieren und bei Pferdewetten verlieren ja weil nämlich eine Frau egal was sie macht weil die weiß wann sie aufhören muss… (James Joyce Ulysses)

Dieter Schnebel (1930-2018), einer der wichtigsten deutschen Komponisten der Avantgarde, und Freund der Galerie St. Barbara hat sich virtuos mit Stimme und Sprachperformance beschäftigt. In seinen Werken ging er oft an die Grenzen der menschlichen Stimme.

Yes, I will, Yes! ist ein Monodram über den Monolog der Molly am Ende des Romans Ulysses. Es handelt sich dabei um einen achtzigseitigen Text ohne Punkt und Komma: die Nachtgedanken – und stark sexuellen Phantasien – der Protagonistin. Sie werden teils gesprochen, teils virtuos gesanglich umgesetzt. Die Begleitung besteht einerseits aus einem Schlagzeugpart (hauptsächlich Vibraphon) und andererseits aus elektronischem Zuspiel. Dieses besteht aus einer zweiten Stimme und aus Hintergrundklängen synthetischer und stimmlicher Art sowie dem ganzen gesprochenen Joyce’schen Text (Dauer ca. 2,5 Std.), indes in vierfacher Geschwindigkeit wiedergegeben.

Sarah Maria Sun hat Schnebels Molly 2016 uraufgeführt. Als eine der ausdrucksstärksten Sängerinnen und Performerinnen für zeitgenössische Musik, haucht sie wie keine andere Molly Bloom Leben ein.

Sarah Maria Sun – Sopran
Johannes Fischer – Perkussion
Gabriel Dernbach – Sound & Video