It is not difficult to compose, but it is fabulously difficult to dispense with all the unnecessary notes

Johannes Brahms

For Johannes Brahms, composition for string quartets was a major challenge. He destroyed his 20 early works before his first two String Quartets Op. 51 were published in 1873. Apart from having to live up to Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven as his models, one reason for this – as indicated above – was the aspect of compositional technique. The quartet selected for this concert is Brahms’ String Quartet in C minor Op. 51/1.

For the young musicians from Barcelona this is their first appearance in Tyrol. They have a wide repertoire, both classical and contemporary, and work in close collaboration with young composers. One of them is Raquel García-Tomás, who brings Claudio Monteverdi to life in così mostraste a lei i vivi ardori miei. Both Ludwig van Beethoven’s Quartet No. 11 Op. 95 “Serioso” and Anton Webern’s Five Movements for String Quartet Op. 5 have a captivating focus on the essentials, on concision and condensation.

Cosmos Quartett
Helena Satué, Bernat Prat – Violinen
Lara Fernández – Viola
Oriol Prat – Violoncello

Mehr anzeigen arrow-icon